Macon County, Illinois   

Macon County was established in 1829 from parts of Shelby County.

It was named for Nathaniel Macon, who served in the Revolutionary War.

Its county seat is Decatur, Illinois.

Macon County is part of the Decatur, Illinois Metro Area, and it has a population of about 115,000.

Macon County is one of 102 counties in Illinois.

Decatur Airport is located in Decatur, Macon County, Illinois.

Schools located in Macon County, Illinois include Millikin University and Richland Community College.

Cities and towns located in Macon County, Illinois include Argenta, Blue Mound, Decatur, Forsyth, Harristown, Long Creek, Macon, Maroa, Mount Zion, Niantic, Oreana and Warrensburg.

For more information about Macon County, please click here, Inc. 2007